top of page
Search
  • heledford

He Is


He’s a pair of camo cargo pants and a bright orange work shirt.

He’s a “baby, speak your mind but be sure you think first.”

He’s an “I guess you know where babies come from . . .

Yeah, well, if you have any questions, ask your mom.”

He’s a “work as hard as you can even if you hate it.”

He’s a “no matter what, just make the best of it.”

He’s a fedora on his head even though he ain’t goin’ nowhere.

He’s an “I’ll do what I want, I don’t care if people stare.”

He’s an “I’ll sing the lyrics out of rhythm and way off key,”

An “I’ll sing ‘em loud and proud, I don’t care who hears me.”

He’s a “When I say ‘boom boom’ you say ‘out go the lights’”

And as he shuts the door, a “goodnight, sweetheart, goodnight.”

He’s a “you’re gonna break some hearts, but yours’ll break, too.

It’s a part of life and it’s going to hurt, but you’ll make it through.”

He’s a harmonica playing “Amazing Grace,”

Slipping into “Silent Night” but doesn’t notice his mistake.

He’s an “Always use cold water to make your coffee.”

He’s laughing so hard he can hardly breathe.

He’s a “You can’t hug too hard, but you can hug too long.”

He’s a “Life is never fair, but you’ve gotta stay strong.”

He’s a kiss on the forehead and an “I love you, baby.”

He’s an “I’m proud of you, if I haven’t said it lately.”

He’s a “you’ve gotta have the valleys to appreciate the peaks.”

He was the best dad a man could ever be.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

She Wants

You don’t know how many tears she’s cried, You couldn’t begin to understand how many times Her heart’s been broken, or just tossed to the side Like she was worthless, but that’s why - She just wants y

[June 6, 2018]

Secondhand smoke still suffocates me. There isn't enough distance between me and the poison. I'm addicted to you, but have to walk away from toxic tethers. I want to breathe again. #musings

May 17, 2018

I just like talking to you. About everything and nothing in the same breath. About the past, the future, and ignoring the right now of it all. The way your words tumble out past your lips After I have

bottom of page